http://hvovet.com/hvo/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/veterinaire-lapin-ormstown-1574x320.jpg

Other small animals

Our services

Euthanasia & Cremation

How to know when it is the right time

How to know when is the right time to send our pet on its last journey? It is a heart-wrenching choice and a painful moment, sometimes accompanied by a feeling of guilt.

Old age, disease, accidents, lifestyle changes are all reasons that can bring us to consider a pet’s euthanasia. First of all, we can investigate to see if our pet is in pain and see if there is anything we can do to reduce pain, or any treatment possible allowing it to have an acceptable quality of life. When an owner becomes incapacitated, he might consider a close one to take over the pet’s responsibility. A young and healthy animal usually tolerates a change of owner well, as long as the same life conditions are respected. When the animal is old, a health exam and a good discussion on the subject with your veterinarian will help you make a decision.

When you have decided to go ahead with euthanasia, you have to choose whether you want to assist the procedure or not. You can also choose to see your animal right after the euthanasia without being in the room during the intervention. It is important that everyone’s wishes be respected in order to help with the mourning process.

First of all, the veterinarian gives the animal a tranquillizer by injection to relax it and possibly relieve pain if it is suffering. This tranquillizer takes a few minutes to take effect. After this, the veterinarian administers an intravenous injection of a powerful barbiturate which anesthetizes then puts them to sleep definitively. The animal first loses consciousness, stops breathing, then finally the heart stops beating. The animal feels no pain during the euthanasia. It often takes less than a minute, sometimes only a few seconds, between the beginning of the injection and the cardiac arrest. Whether the owner is present or not during the intervention, the veterinarian and technician make sure to reduce the animal’s anxiety by talking to it and caressing it. The body is then manipulated respectfully and kept until it is cremated, or simply wrapped to allow the owner to take it home.

When it comes to the body disposal, there are different choices to meet your needs. You can bring the body home and dispose of it according to the municipal laws. You have the possibility of buying a small cardboard coffin for the return home (Afubox). The group cremation is a choice often made by owners. You can also have the body cremated individually with the return of ashes in an urn (Cremanimo). Cremanimo also offers to assist the cremation, on appointments.

We understand that this is a difficult choice for many reasons. You will be sad for your loss. Time will diminish your sorrow and happy memories remain.

Cremation

The loss of your pet can be painful and the choice of euthanasia is a difficult one to make. Be sure to know that we treat all animals with great respect. This is one of the reasons why we are proud to work with the animal crematorium CREMANIMO. Located in Sherbrooke, this establishment is certified by the Ministère du Développement Durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs. Therefore, this company is in compliance with the province’s environmental standards.

Cremation is a humane, environmental and ecological method of body disposal, and it decreases the spread of diseases and risks of contamination. Several cremation services are available through our hospital:

Group cremation (included with euthanasia)

It is possible to get a free cremation certificate for your animal with a hair piece (Upon request only).

Individual cremation (additional fees)

  • Several choices of urns (some are included in the basic price);
  • Commemorative plaque included to write your pet’s name and a brief message;
  • Cremation certificate included;
  • Ashes are returned to the hospital within 3 to 7 days

Assisted cremation (additional fees)

  • It is possible to assist your animal’s individual cremation at the crematorium in Sherbrooke.
  • Several urn choices (some are included);
  • Commemorative plaque included to write your pet’s name and a brief message;
  • Cremation certificate included;
  • Ashes are given to you the same day

Contact us for more information or visit www.cremanimo.com to read different testimony and get to know Crémanimo.


General medicine

Coming soon!


Laboratory

Laboratory and parasitology analysis

Our laboratory is equipped with several high technology diagnostic devices. The results are available within a few minutes which allows us to establish the appropriate diagnosis and treatments as soon as possible.

Laboratory analysis available

  • ELISA screening tests and immunology
    • 4DX (heartworm, Lyme disease, Anaplasmosis and Ehrlichiosis)
    • “Triple Feline” (heartworm, leukemia, feline immunodeficiency)
    • Biliary acids
    • Pancreatic lipase
    • T4 (thyroid gland)
    • Cortisol
    • Parvovirus
    • Giardiose
  • Intraocculary pressure (Tonovet)
  • Fungal culture
  • Diverse analysis under the microscope:
    • Cytology (mass, ears, gingival, cutaneous lesions)
    • Faecal smear
    • Coprology
    • Urinary sediment
    • Cutaneous scraping

External laboratories

  • Idexx Laboratories (histopathology, Qc6 quantitative antibody tests, etc.)
  • Spectrum Group (Allergy tests)

When are laboratory analysis needed?

  1. Pre-anesthetic tests allow us to know if your animal can properly metabolize and eliminate the anesthetic substance administered to him during surgery. These tests confirm that your animal’s organs work well and do not suffer latent infections. These tests also reduce the risk of potential complications and can be used in the future as a reference point.
  2. Combined with an annual exam by a veterinarian, laboratory tests help us make sure your animal is healthy, especially when it reaches a certain age. Also, these tests help us find out if a new animal is healthy.
  3. To follow up on a pathological condition (hyperthyroidism, renal insufficiency, urinary problems, diabetes, etc.)
  4. As means of diagnosis of a sick animal.
  5. The coprology (stool test) allows us to detect parasites that might be transmissible to humans in some cases (zoonosis). Results allow the veterinarian to establish the proper treatment plan with the appropriate medication (deworming).

Laser Therapy

We are now equipped with a class IV laser; a new therapeutic tool for animals.

What is laser therapy?

Class IV lasers deliver specific red and near-infrared wavelengths of laser light to induce a therapeutic effect within the body.
Laser therapy is a drug free, surgery-free solution that increases circulation, reduces inflammation and swelling, reduces pain and enhances tissue repair.
Laser therapy has been used in Europe since the 1970s by therapists, nurses and doctors. Laser therapy has been cleared by the United States Food and Drug Administration in 2002 and has been used by practitioners worldwide for humans and animals.

How does laser therapy work?

The application of laser energy promotes increased circulation by drawing oxygen and nutrients to the affected area. This creates an optimal healing environment reducing inflammation, swelling, muscle spasms, stiffness and pain. As the injured area returns to normal, pain is relieved and function is restored. During treatment, infrared laser light interacts with tissues at the cellular level. Increased metabolic activity within the cell stimulates the transport of nutrients across the cell membrane initiating increased production of cellular energy. This leads to a cascade of beneficial events promoting the acceleration of the healing process and reduced pain.

Which conditions can be treated by laser therapy?

In veterinary medicine, the therapeutic laser is used after surgery and dentistry, for wound treatment or musculo-skeletal problems. Numerous studies show that laser therapy can help with:

  • Joint pain
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Arthrosis
  • Tendinopathies
  • Edema and congestion
  • Ligament sprains
  • Muscle strains
  • Puncture wounds
  • Post-traumatic injuries
  • Post-surgical pain
  • Neck and back pain
  • Hip dysplasia
  • Burns
  • Chronic wounds
  • Rehabilitation
  • Post-orthopedic surgical recovery
  • Ear infections

How long is each treatment?

A treatment takes on average between 3 and 8 minutes, depending on the area to be treated.

How many treatments does it take?

This depends on the nature of the condition being treated. For some acute conditions, 1 to 2 treatments may be sufficient and the animal often feels improvement after the first treatment. Those of more chronic nature may require 5 to 8 treatments. Some condition may require ongoing periodic care to control pain. Each treatment of laser therapy is cumulative in nature. The length and frequency of treatments vary with the animal’s condition. Your veterinarian will recommend a treatment plan specific to your animal’s condition.

Does laser therapy hurt? What does a treatment feel like?

There is no patient sedation or restraint required and the experience is usually pleasant and comforting for the animal. There is little or no sensation during treatment. Occasionally the patient feels a mild, soothing warmth or tingling. Areas of pain or inflammation may be sensitive briefly before pain reduction.

Has the efficiency of laser therapy been proven through scientific research?

Yes, the effects of laser therapy have been proven by many published studies. Scientific studies show how laser therapy can help in different clinical cases.

Are there any side effects or associated risks?

In more than 20 years of use by healthcare providers all over the world, very few side effects have been reported. Occasionally, some old injuries or pain syndromes may feel aggravated for a few days, as the healing response is more active after treatment.

Watch the following videos for more info on laser therapy:


Surgery

Coming soon!


Teeth Trimming

Coming soon!


Ultrasound

Although radiography remains the main tool in veterinary medical imaging, the ultrasound has become an indispensable one. Here are the services offered by the hospital:

  • Early pregnancy diagnostic (20–30 days after last breeding)
  • Abdominal exploration (tumours, bleeding, etc.)
  • Evaluation of the reproductive system (uterus and prostate)
  • Evaluation of the urinary system (kidneys and bladder)
  • Evaluation of the spleen, the liver and the biliary system
  • Evaluation of the digestive system
  • Ultrasound-guided fine-needle aspiration
  • Ultrasound-guided biopsy
  • Ultrasound-guided cystocenthesis

http://hvovet.com/hvo/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/veterinaire-lapin-ormstown-1574x320.jpg

Autres petits animaux

Nos services vétérinaires

Chirurgie

À venir !


Échographie et radiographie numérique

Bien que la radiographie demeure la modalité principale en imagerie médicale vétérinaire, l’échographie est devenue un outil incontournable. Voici les différents services offerts par l’hôpital :

  • Diagnostic précoce de gestation (20-30 jours du dernier accouplement)
  • Exploration abdominale (tumeurs, hémorragie, etc.)
  • Évaluation du système génital (utérus et prostate)
  • Évaluation du système urinaire (reins et vessie)
  • Évaluation de la rate, du foie et du système biliaire
  • Évaluation du système digestif
  • Aspirations à l’aiguille fine échoguidées
  • Biopsies échoguidées
  • Cystocenthèse échoguidée

Euthanasie et crémation

Comment savoir si c’est le bon moment?

Comment faire pour savoir qu’il est temps de faire faire le grand voyage à notre animal de compagnie ? C’est un choix déchirant et un moment douloureux à passer, en plus du sentiment de culpabilité qui peut nous envahir.

La vieillesse, la maladie, un accident ou un changement dans notre style de vie sont toutes des raisons qui peuvent nous amener à songer à l’euthanasie de son animal de compagnie. On peut d’abord se demander si l’animal est souffrant et s’il y a des moyens pour alléger ses douleurs ou s’il existe un traitement lui permettant d’avoir une qualité de vie acceptable. En cas d’incapacité de notre part, il est possible qu’un proche puisse prendre la relève avec notre animal. Un animal jeune et en santé va habituellement très bien tolérer un changement de propriétaire, à condition de respecter à peu près les mêmes conditions de garde. Quand l’animal se fait vieux, un examen de santé et une bonne discussion à ce sujet avec votre vétérinaire vous aideront à prendre une décision éclairée.

Ça y est, votre décision est prise. Vous devez maintenant faire le choix d’assister ou non à l’euthanasie. Vous pouvez aussi choisir de simplement voir votre animal décédé sans être présent lors de la procédure. Il est important de respecter les besoins de chacun afin de faciliter le processus du deuil.

Juste avant de procéder, le vétérinaire donne un tranquillisant pour relaxer et possiblement atténuer les douleurs de l’animal s’il est souffrant. Après quoi il procède à une injection intraveineuse d’un barbiturique puissant qui anesthésie puis endort définitivement l’animal. Il perd d’abord conscience, arrête de respirer puis finalement, le cœur s’arrête de battre. L’animal ne ressent aucune douleur pendant l’euthanasie. Entre le début de l’injection et l’arrêt cardiaque, il s’écoule souvent moins d’une minute, parfois même quelques secondes. Que ce soit en présence ou non des propriétaires, le vétérinaire et le technicien s’assurent de réduire au minimum l’anxiété de l’animal en lui parlant et le caressant doucement. Le corps est ensuite manipulé respectueusement et gardé au froid en attendant l’incinération, ou encore enveloppé pour vous permettre de le reprendre.

La méthode de disposition du corps offre aussi des choix qui pourront répondre aux désirs de chacun. Vous pouvez décider de ramener le corps chez vous où vous pourrez en disposer conformément aux lois de votre municipalité. Il y a possibilité d’acheter un petit cercueil de carton pour le retour à la maison (Afubox). L’incinération de groupe est un choix fréquemment fait par les propriétaires. Une incinération individuelle avec retour des cendres dans une urne est possible (Crémanimo). Crémanimo vous offre aussi la possibilité d’assister à l’incinération, sur rendez-vous.

Nous comprenons qu’il s’agit parfois d’un choix très difficile pour toutes sortes de raisons. Vous serez triste d’avoir perdu votre compagnon. Le temps estompera votre chagrin et vous garderez vivants des souvenirs heureux.

La crémation

La perte de son animal peut être douloureuse et procéder à l’euthanasie de son fidèle compagnon s’avère un choix déchirant. Sachez que nous traitons vos animaux avec le plus grand respect. C’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que nous sommes fiers de travailler en collaboration avec le crématoire pour animaux CRÉMANIMO. Situé à Sherbrooke, il s’agit d’un établissement certifié par le Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs. De ce fait, cette entreprise est conforme aux normes environnementales du Québec. La crémation est une méthode humaine et écologique de disposer des corps, et ce, en plus de diminuer les risques de contamination et de propagation des maladies. Plusieurs services de crémation sont donc à votre disposition par le biais de notre hôpital :

Incinération de groupe (inclus avec l’euthanasie)

Sachez qu’il est possible d’obtenir gratuitement un certificat de crémation commune avec une mèche de poils de votre animal (sur demande seulement).

Incinération individuelle (frais en sus)

  • Plusieurs choix d’urnes (certains modèles sont inclus dans le prix de base) ;
  • Plaquette commémorative incluse pour y inscrire le nom de votre animal et/ou un bref message ;
  • Certificat de crémation inclus ;
  • Les cendres sont retournées à l’hôpital dans un délai de 3 à 7 jours.

Incinération assistée (frais en sus)

Il est possible d’assister à la crémation individuelle de votre animal au crématorium situé à Sherbrooke.

  • Plusieurs choix d’urnes (certains modèles sont inclus) ;
  • Plaquette commémorative incluse pour y inscrire le nom de votre animal et/ou un bref message ;
  • Certificat de crémation inclus ;
  • Les cendres sont récupérées sur place.

Contactez-nous pour plus d’information ou visitez www.cremanimo.com pour lire les différents témoignages et mieux connaître Crémanimo.


Laboratoire

Analyses de laboratoire et parasitologie

Notre laboratoire est équipé de plusieurs appareils diagnostiques à la fine pointe de la technologie. Les résultats sont disponibles rapidement, ce qui permet d’instaurer les traitements appropriés dans les plus brefs délais.

Analyses laboratoire disponibles

  • Tests de dépistage ELISA et immunologie
    • 4DX (ver du cœur, maladie de Lyme, Anaplasmose & Ehrlichiose)
    • « Triple Feline » (ver du cœur, leucémie, immunodéficience féline)
    • Acides biliaires
    • Lipase pancréatique
    • T4 (glande thyroïde)
    • Cortisol
    • Parvovirus
    • Giardiose
  • Analyse d’urine (analyse chimique, densité urinaire, Ph)
    • Culture fongique 
    • Analyses diverses au microscope 
    • Cytologie (masse, oreilles, gingivale, lésions cutanées) 
    • Frottis fécal 
    • Coprologie 
    • Sédiment urinaire 
    • Grattage cutané
  • Pression intraoculaire (Tonovet)

Laboratoires externes

  • Laboratoires Idexx (histopathologie, test quantitatif d’anticorps Qc6, etc.)
  • Groupe Spectrum (Épreuve allergologique)

Pourquoi faire des analyses de laboratoire ?

Des tests préanesthésiques permettent de savoir si votre animal peut adéquatement métaboliser, puis éliminer la substance anesthésique qui lui sera administrée. Ceux-ci permettent de confirmer que les organes fonctionnent bien et ne souffrent pas d’affections latentes. Ces tests permettent aussi de réduire les risques de complications potentielles et s’avèrent une référence ultérieure fort utile.


Laser thérapeutique

Nous sommes maintenant équipés d’un laser thérapeutique de classe IV ; une nouvelle solution thérapeutique pour les animaux.

Qu’est-ce que le laser thérapeutique ?

La thérapie laser, ou « photobiomodulation » est l’utilisation de longueurs d’onde spécifiques de lumière rouge et infrarouge proche à des fins thérapeutiques.

Le laser thérapeutique est une méthode non invasive et non médicamenteuse qui augmente la circulation sanguine, réduit l’inflammation, réduit la douleur, accélère la guérison et diminue les œdèmes.

La thérapie laser est largement utilisée en Europe depuis les années 70 par les thérapeutes, les infirmières et les docteurs. Depuis l’acceptation par la FDA en 2002, la thérapie laser est utilisée de manière intensive aux États-Unis, à la fois pour les humains et les animaux.

Quels sont les effets cellulaires et thérapeutiques du laser ?

La lumière infrarouge interagit avec les tissus au niveau cellulaire, activant ainsi le métabolisme cellulaire, ce qui améliore le transfert de nutriments au travers de la membrane cellulaire. Ceci initie une production cellulaire accrue d’énergie qui engendre une cascade d’effets bénéfiques, améliorant le fonctionnement et la santé des cellules. Lors de chaque traitement, l’énergie laser augmente la circulation, amenant ainsi de l’eau, de l’oxygène et des nutriments vers la région lésée. Ceci réduit l’inflammation, les gonflements, les spasmes musculaires, les raideurs et la douleur, et crée un environnement optimal pour la guérison.

Quelles sont les indications pouvant être soignées par la thérapie laser ?

En médecine vétérinaire, le laser thérapeutique est utilisé suite aux chirurgies et dentisteries, pour le traitement de plaies ou les problèmes musculo-squelettiques. Les études démontrent que la thérapie au laser peut aider dans les cas de :

  • Douleurs articulaires
  • Ostéoarthrite
  • Arthrose
  • Tendinopathie
  • Œdèmes et congestions
  • Problèmes ligamentaires
  • Problèmes musculaires
  • Blessures ouvertes
  • Blessures post — traumatiques
  • Douleurs post — chirurgicales
  • Douleurs dorsales ou cervicales
  • Dysplasie de hanche
  • Brûlures
  • Blessures chroniques
  • Réhabilitation
  • Revalidation après une chirurgie orthopédique
  • Otites
  • Plaies chroniques

Quelle est la durée de chaque traitement ?

Une session prend en moyenne de 3 à 8 minutes, dépendant de la taille de la surface à traiter.

Combien de sessions sont nécessaires ?

Cela dépend du problème traité. Certains cas aigus peuvent ne nécessiter qu’un ou deux traitements et une amélioration est souvent vue après la première visite. Les cas plus chroniques peuvent nécessiter 5 à 8 traitements. D’autres cas peuvent demander une intervention périodique. Les traitements au laser de classe IV sont cumulatifs par nature. La longueur et la fréquence des traitements varient en fonction du cas observé. Votre vétérinaire vous recommandera un plan de traitement adapté aux besoins de votre animal.

Comment se déroule une session ?

Aucune sédation ou immobilisation complète de l’animal n’est nécessaire pour effectuer un traitement. Le traitement se révèle généralement comme une expérience agréable pour l’animal.

Que ressent l’animal lors d’une session ?

Il y a au maximum une légère sensation lors du traitement. Occasionnellement, l’animal peut ressentir une légère chaleur ou un léger picotement. Des zones douloureuses ou enflammées peuvent devenir sensibles pendant un court moment, avant qu’une réduction de la douleur ne se fasse sentir.

Est-ce que l’efficacité de la thérapie laser a été prouvée scientifiquement ?

Oui, les effets cliniques de la thérapie laser ont été démontrés par plusieurs études publiées. Des études scientifiques contrôlées rigoureusement ont démontré l’efficacité de la thérapie laser dans de nombreux cas cliniques différents.

Quels sont les effets secondaires ?

En 20 ans d’utilisation chez divers spécialistes, très peu d’effets secondaires ont été remarqués. Dans de rares cas, de vieilles blessures ou des douleurs peuvent être aggravées pendant quelques jours, étant donné que le processus de guérison est plus important après le traitement.

Consultez les vidéos suivantes afin d’en apprendre plus sur les traitements au laser :


Médecine générale

À venir!


Taille des dents

À venir !